Fake Digg Site, BEWARE!
Like this article?
In the morning when I was wandering over the internet, My friend shared a link with me saying “Check out this Digg Fake site”. Firstly, I though he must be kidding or it would be some kind of comic but when I opened that link, I was like startled that site was looking similar like digg, same stories, same dig counting, same design it was like complete clone of digg.
Here is the link of that fake digg site www.567gu.com and also have a look on fake and original digg site and lets see if you can find difference between them (except the advertisement, which rotates on each visit)
Then I went on further with some investigation like checking out the whois and server IP of that fake digg site and here is what I came up with.
WHOIS:
The whois of that fake digg site belongs to some “su yue bian” who belongs to China, here is the WHOIS info.
Name : suyuebian
Organization : su yue bian
Address : shanghaipudongtangqiao19B
City : shanghaishi
Province/State : Shanghai
Country : CN
Postal Code : 361009
Phone Number : -215-1697771
Fax : -215-1697771
Email : 567gu [at] 163.com
That domain registered on 22 April 2008 and the DNS of the domain is pointed to
NS5.CDNCENTER.COM
NS6.CDNCENTER.COM
Server IP:
Now comes the most important part the server IP of that fake digg site was the same one which is digg’s and here is the server IP “64.191.203.30”. Checkout the list of websites which are hosted on this IP address.

Data taken with www.domainbyip.com
Now possibilities are 567gu.com is parked on the same server on which digg is hosted or it must be some other script which is fetching the data and showing it in same way, being shown at digg and the man/team behind that fake digg site is trying to get user credentials, once they login on that fake digg.
Where is digg team? What they are doing on this issue? Now really I would say God Bless Digg, till then any action taken by digg I would strictly advised you not to login on that fake dig site.












Pavan Kumar (January 10th, 2009)
Nice workout… You have moved one more step to reverse lookup the ip and find both of them are hosted on same ip….
Stumbled…